<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?><rss xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/" xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/" xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom" version="2.0"><channel><title><![CDATA[Save user data during upgrade_or only uninstall?]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p dir="auto">Way back in NPP 7.1, changelog mentioned:<br />
14. Installer: Ask user for keeping user data during uninstallation.<br />
Does that saving user data only apply to uninstalling - not the upgrade process?<br />
What kind of data does it mean?</p>
<p dir="auto">If you uninstalled the old version before installing a new one, would it allow saving all preference changes?</p>
<p dir="auto">Best I can tell, still in v7.3.2 if you don’t BU the stylers &amp; config.xml &amp; restore them to the new version, installing new versions to the existing program folder wipes all user customizations?  Yes?</p>
<p dir="auto">It would be nice if there was an “export user preferences” option in the menu - or such.</p>
<p dir="auto">Thanks.</p>
]]></description><link>https://community.notepad-plus-plus.org/topic/13354/save-user-data-during-upgrade_or-only-uninstall</link><generator>RSS for Node</generator><lastBuildDate>Sat, 17 Oct 2026 13:09:33 GMT</lastBuildDate><atom:link href="https://community.notepad-plus-plus.org/topic/13354.rss" rel="self" type="application/rss+xml"/><pubDate>Sun, 26 Feb 2017 02:24:12 GMT</pubDate><ttl>60</ttl><item><title><![CDATA[Reply to Save user data during upgrade_or only uninstall? on Mon, 27 Feb 2017 21:55:48 GMT]]></title><description><![CDATA[<p dir="auto">I have <em>not</em> experienced this when upgrading NPP via the <em>Upgrade Notepad++</em> in the Help (<em>?</em> ) menu. I <em>thought</em> I hadn’t customized the stylers at all, but when I looked, I had changed the <em>font</em> a long time ago (probably sometime early in version 6). I also had to look at what is in config.xml, and I would notice if my recent file list were cleared! I’m not sure if the <a href="http://docs.notepad-plus-plus.org/index.php/Main_Page" rel="nofollow ugc">Wiki</a> is current, but <a href="http://docs.notepad-plus-plus.org/index.php/Configuration_Files#Configuration_files_and_Notepad.2B.2B_upgrades" rel="nofollow ugc">as of v5.4.1</a>, at least the <em>stylers</em> and <em>langs</em> files are not touched.</p>
<p dir="auto">This <a href="http://docs.notepad-plus-plus.org/index.php/Configuration_Files#8_optional_xml_files:" rel="nofollow ugc">page</a> also mentions that</p>
<blockquote>
<p dir="auto">When it looks like a setting is lost, a common cause is that there are two sets of files, one in the %APPDATA%\Notepad++ folder and one alongside Notepad++.exe. Then either N++ doesn’t read the right file, or the setting was saved into the wrong file.</p>
</blockquote>
<p dir="auto">Regarding an export of settings, there is an <a href="https://github.com/notepad-plus-plus/notepad-plus-plus/issues/342" rel="nofollow ugc">issue</a> on GitHub that discusses it. However, that issue is closed. I left some comments on it, but the issue has been raised and closed before.</p>
]]></description><link>https://community.notepad-plus-plus.org/post/22197</link><guid isPermaLink="true">https://community.notepad-plus-plus.org/post/22197</guid><dc:creator><![CDATA[glennfromiowa]]></dc:creator><pubDate>Mon, 27 Feb 2017 21:55:48 GMT</pubDate></item></channel></rss>