"Remember Current Session" - like or dislike?



  • @Alan-Kilborn Thanks Allen but why don’t you just enlighten me on what two features you are referring to… I only know about one that screws me up … “Remember current session.” . I’ll just say that no other editor that I know of saves file states by default and without letting the user know.



  • @Sunil-Gupta

    please focus on your original needs, like: “Is there any way to have a “build” or config file when installing to turn this off by default? I use ninite free to install NP++.”

    do not engage on debates of principles.

    many thanks and best regards.



  • @Meta-Chuh said:

    @Sunil-Gupta

    please focus on your original needs, like: “Is there any way to have a “build” or config file when installing to turn this off by default? I use ninite free to install NP++.”

    do not engage on debates of principles.

    Point taken; however, note that I was asked “I am curious how that setting has messed things up for you.”, so I answered.

    Thanks all for the help!



  • @Meta-Chuh said:

    do not engage on debates of principles.

    Why not?

    OK, here are the choices:

    X Remember current session for next launch
    X Enable session snapshot and periodic backup
    What it means: N++ will remember the file set you have open for next time, and it will let you quit then current run with modified but unsaved files.

    X Remember current session for next launch
    _ Enable session snapshot and periodic backup
    What it means: N++ will remember the file set you have open for next time and will NOT let you quit the current run with modified but unsaved files (you will be prompted to save any that are unsaved)

    _ Remember current session for next launch
    _ Enable session snapshot and periodic backup
    What it means: N++ will open next time with only 1 tab (named “new 1”) and will NOT let you quit the current run with modified but unsaved files (you will be prompted to save any that are unsaved)

    _ Remember current session for next launch
    X Enable session snapshot and periodic backup
    Not a possible combination

    Note that in the above I did not elaborate on the periodic backup part. That’s already covered well here and also here.

    So the OP’s main complaint seems to be being allowed to exit Notepad++ with modified but unsaved files. Well, fine, if you don’t like that (I don’t like that), then just select an option-set that prevents it. But don’t confuse it with the feature in the title of this thread, specifically remembering which files were open at the last exit (which as I’ve already stated, I like).

    So the OP said:

    I can’t tell you how many times I’ve hit the X button instinctively expecting the usual “Do you want to save?” that virtually every other program on the planet gives.

    the really annoying fact that when I open NP++ … it opens and has files I edited 2-3 days … ago!

    Based upon this, the selection should be:

    _ Remember current session for next launch
    _ Enable session snapshot and periodic backup

    So a full understanding of the settings seemed to be a problem, hopefully that is cleared up now. But the real problem is apparently distribution of common settings, which @Meta-Chuh has covered in an earlier post. But why do you think everybody in your organization thinks the way you do? I’d say leave these settings at their defaults and let the individuals decide for themselves how they want to work. For a lot of people, being able to exit with unsaved changes is a killer-app N++ feature, as is remembering what was open.



  • @Alan-Kilborn:

    Why not?

    good question, as it seems fun to read.
    i suppose, if an op does not mind a procrastination of the original target, it’s ok.



  • @Alan-Kilborn said:

    being able to exit with unsaved changes is a killer-app N++ feature,

    With all due respect, this just baffles me. This seems antithetical to everything anyone who manages or uses computers knows. Having files in an inconsistent state is bad. Let’s say user A edits a file, closes NP++ without saving and then user B comes along and edits the same file… User A’s changes are now invalid or, worse yet, User A comes along, opens NP++, writes his changes (finally) and now user B’s changes are gone.

    I’m not sure if file OS locks are used when NP++ has a file “open but not saved”, but I doubt it.

    @Meta-Chuh said:

    if an op does not mind a procrastination of the original target, it’s ok.

    I’m ok with the discussion - I’m learning things.



  • @Sunil-Gupta said:

    With all due respect, this just baffles me.

    It baffles a lot of the people here, too, including me. But there are people who use that feature – and even love it. Alan wasn’t saying he finds that a killer feature, he was just pointing out there are people who do.

    And the Notepad++ developer has provided the option, so that people who fall in either camp can configure notepad++ to their liking. That’s one of the best things about Notepad++. If you don’t like the “default” configuration, change it to your liking. It has been explained above how to make the change, and then even deploy that change to other users.



  • This post is deleted!


  • @PeterJones said:

    And the Notepad++ developer has provided the option…That’s one of the best things about Notepad++

    100% agree. I’ll reiterate how much I appreciate this program and the people behind it.

    My only issue is that this feature is enabled by default.



  • @Sunil-Gupta said:

    My only issue is that this feature is enabled by default.

    Yes, probably because it was there in version 1.0 of Notepad++ (I don’t know, I wasn’t using it then!) and the masses of users fell in love with it. Thus it became a killer-app feature. (Again, NOT for me, NOT for Peter, and not for YOU).

    Sometimes people get wound up about features on or off by default. Well, you aren’t going to make everyone happy. The N++ developer chose a default (for all preferenced features) in the beginning, and rarely changes his mind later.

    A edits a file, closes NP++ without saving and then user B comes along and edits the same file…

    Oh, yea, for sure this will cause trouble…but only if people don’t fully understand what Notepad++ is doing. If you have a lot of users of N++ at your site, and some are, let’s say, computer novices…or others can never seem to learn how N++ works in this regard (after repeated explanation), then yea, 100% agree make sure this feature is off for them and that they don’t mess with it. Of course, getting burned by it may be the best teacher, so…

    This seems antithetical to everything anyone who manages or uses computers knows.

    Not really, just people set in their ways. ;)



  • @Alan-Kilborn said:

    @Sunil-Gupta said:

    Not really, just people set in their ways. ;)

    Really? Name one other application that behaves this way.



  • @Sunil-Gupta said:

    Name one other application

    Dude, you are seriously not understanding. Let me try one more time: Applications need something that sets them apart from other similar programs. For many many people and Notepad++, a core one of these things is the ability to exit with unsaved files. It makes no difference that other applications don’t do this. Since when do you have to be like the crowd to be correct/innovative?

    Again, I don’t use the feature. But I understand.


Log in to reply