• Login
Community
  • Login

Stuck in "Administrator" mode...how to get out?

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Help wanted · · · – – – · · ·
35 Posts 10 Posters 11.3k Views
Loading More Posts
  • Oldest to Newest
  • Newest to Oldest
  • Most Votes
Reply
  • Reply as topic
Log in to reply
This topic has been deleted. Only users with topic management privileges can see it.
  • P
    PeterJones
    last edited by PeterJones Jan 4, 2019, 9:13 PM Jan 4, 2019, 9:12 PM

    Have you checked your registry? this thread was trying to force it to open in Administrator mode, but if similar entries had the RUNASADMIN already, then maybe deleting those entries would work…

    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\AppCompatFlags\Layers
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\AppCompatFlags\Layers
    

    You might also check whether one of your entries like HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Applications\notepad++.exe or HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Classes\Applications\notepad++.exe has a runas verb as well as (or instead of) an open verb.

    Maybe start searching the registry for notepad++.exe and/or runas – it will find some irrelevant ones, but might find you what you are looking for…

    M 1 Reply Last reply Jan 4, 2019, 9:35 PM Reply Quote 1
    • M
      Meta Chuh moderator @PeterJones
      last edited by Jan 4, 2019, 9:35 PM

      @Alan-Kilborn

      @PeterJones 's good ideas regarding cmd and runas also made me think:
      what would happen if you start a cmd window and execute runas /trustlevel:0x20000 "Your_Path_To\notepad++.exe" ?

      does np++ still show [Administrator] in the title bar and in the debug info ?

      1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 1
      • G
        guy038
        last edited by guy038 Jan 5, 2019, 1:33 PM Jan 5, 2019, 12:32 PM

        Hi, @alan-kilborn, @meta-chuh, @peterjones, @eko-palypse,

        Maybe what I’m about to say sounds silly, as I’m not a coder, ( yet! ), but why not look at the part of N++ code, responsible for the display of [Administrator] in the N++ title bar ?

        Probably, this occurs, ONLY IF several, conditions are, simultaneously, true ! Then, you would have to verify if each of these individual conditions is checked or not, in Alan’s configuration ?!

        Cheers,

        guy038

        A 1 Reply Last reply Jan 7, 2019, 1:33 PM Reply Quote 4
        • A
          Alan Kilborn
          last edited by Jan 7, 2019, 1:23 PM

          I looked in the registry but didn’t see any weirdness such as Peter suggested. Trying Meta Chuh’s runas command resulted in N++ running and still presenting “Administrator” in the title bar… :(

          1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
          • A
            Alan Kilborn @guy038
            last edited by Jan 7, 2019, 1:33 PM

            @guy038 said:

            why not look at the part of N++ code, responsible for the display of [Administrator] in the N++ title bar ?

            Not an unreasonable suggestion at this point. :)

            Here’s how the title bar gets set:

            void Notepad_plus::setTitle()
            {
                if (_isAdministrator)
                    result += TEXT(" [Administrator]");
            

            Which leads back to how _isAdministrator is determined:

            Notepad_plus::Notepad_plus()
            {
                // Determine if user is administrator.
                BOOL is_admin;
                winVer ver = NppParameters::getInstance()->getWinVersion();
                if (ver >= WV_VISTA || ver == WV_UNKNOWN)
                {
                    SID_IDENTIFIER_AUTHORITY NtAuthority = SECURITY_NT_AUTHORITY;
                    PSID AdministratorsGroup;
                    is_admin = AllocateAndInitializeSid(&NtAuthority, 2, SECURITY_BUILTIN_DOMAIN_RID, DOMAIN_ALIAS_RID_ADMINS, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, &AdministratorsGroup);
                    if (is_admin)
                    {
                        if (!CheckTokenMembership(NULL, AdministratorsGroup, &is_admin))
                            is_admin = FALSE;
                        FreeSid(AdministratorsGroup);
                    }
                }
                else
                    is_admin = false;
            
                _isAdministrator = is_admin ? true : false;
            }
            
            1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 2
            • A
              Alan Kilborn
              last edited by Jan 7, 2019, 3:11 PM

              I suppose I will just “live with it”. It appears that however I.T. has my account set up, it isn’t going to play well anymore with Notepad++. Asking I.T. to “fix” what they’ve done would likely be counterproductive as I’d probably end up with a worse situation.

              I remember when computers were engineering tools. I’m not sure what they are now, but I don’t think it is that. :(

              M 1 Reply Last reply Jan 7, 2019, 6:03 PM Reply Quote 2
              • A
                andrecool-68
                last edited by Jan 7, 2019, 5:39 PM

                How is it generally with a user account?
                Here is an example of two programs on the same machine.

                M 1 Reply Last reply Jan 7, 2019, 6:15 PM Reply Quote 0
                • M
                  Meta Chuh moderator @Alan Kilborn
                  last edited by Meta Chuh Jan 7, 2019, 6:05 PM Jan 7, 2019, 6:03 PM

                  @Alan-Kilborn

                  i think i found something i can reproduce:
                  i’ve set up a windows 7 x64 bit test vm with a standard user.
                  if i start notepad++ portable or installed, it loads as this default user.

                  i’ve then entered the user settings and slided the user access control slider from default down to off (disable uac) and rebooted.

                  tadaaaa: from now on i always see [Administrator] in the notepad++ top bar, even if it is not running as administrator.

                  maybe it’s the same on your system ?
                  maybe the it guy temporarily disabled uac because he was annoyed by it while he was setting up something, and he just forgot or didn’t bother to re-enable it again ?

                  1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 2
                  • M
                    Meta Chuh moderator @andrecool-68
                    last edited by Jan 7, 2019, 6:15 PM

                    @andrecool-68

                    i think that administrator detection of newer versions of notepad++ relies on an active user access control.
                    what happens if you re-enable uac and set it to default for a test, then reboot ?
                    does it still say [administrator] in your portable 7.6.2 or is it gone then ?

                    alt

                    A 1 Reply Last reply Jan 7, 2019, 6:24 PM Reply Quote 1
                    • A
                      andrecool-68
                      last edited by Jan 7, 2019, 6:16 PM

                      True UAC is disabled!

                      1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                      • A
                        andrecool-68
                        last edited by Jan 7, 2019, 6:22 PM

                        Yesterday I reinstalled the 7x64 operating system, and turned it off myself.

                        1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                        • A
                          Alan Kilborn @Meta Chuh
                          last edited by Jan 7, 2019, 6:24 PM

                          @Meta-Chuh

                          Here’s how that screen looks for me:

                          Imgur

                          A 1 Reply Last reply Jan 7, 2019, 7:48 PM Reply Quote 2
                          • A
                            andrecool-68
                            last edited by Jan 7, 2019, 6:30 PM

                            1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 1
                            • A
                              Alan Kilborn @Alan Kilborn
                              last edited by Jan 7, 2019, 7:48 PM

                              Not sure why people are upvoting my UAC screenshot. I guess I should say that I didn’t change that setting in any way and just posted it here so Meta Chuh could see what I have and what I’ve always had there. My problem still exists (just to be clear).

                              M 1 Reply Last reply Jan 7, 2019, 8:25 PM Reply Quote 0
                              • P
                                PeterJones
                                last edited by Jan 7, 2019, 8:01 PM

                                I tend to upvote good answers, or replies that ask questions I think are worth asking, or replies that directly and informatively answer those questions or add useful information to a discussion: knowing that having UAC enabled does not fix it for you is useful to the discussion – it says that “well, we haven’t yet found the root cause”. It’s unfortunate, but it still helps move the thread forward.

                                1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 2
                                • M
                                  Meta Chuh moderator @Alan Kilborn
                                  last edited by Meta Chuh Jan 7, 2019, 8:28 PM Jan 7, 2019, 8:25 PM

                                  i second that.

                                  i gave you an upvote on your screenshot, because you actually took the time to do so.

                                  of course it doesn’t solve your issue and no one thinks it’s solved just because you got the slider way up and posted it, and for you it’s probably a natural thing to participate to get issues solved, but you’ve seen for yourself how few people do the same and keep reposting the same thing over and over again without trying anything suggested.

                                  i simply had to give you an upvote for it, it’s in my nature ;-)

                                  1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 1
                                  • A
                                    Alan Kilborn
                                    last edited by Jan 7, 2019, 9:43 PM

                                    Thanks for everyone’s efforts so far…

                                    1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 2
                                    • M
                                      Meta Chuh moderator
                                      last edited by Jan 7, 2019, 9:48 PM

                                      @Alan-Kilborn said:

                                      Thanks for everyone’s efforts so far…

                                      you can’t imagine how hard it was for me to keep my finger off that upvote button right now 😂😂😂 ;-)

                                      1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 5
                                      • Ilkka LindblomI
                                        Ilkka Lindblom
                                        last edited by Jan 23, 2019, 12:00 PM

                                        Re-enabling UAC fixed this issue for me. Unfortunately, probably due to all the uninstalls and reinstalls I made while trying to fix it, NPP seems to have lost my saved session. Still I’m glad to have it working again, so thanks a lot people.

                                        M 1 Reply Last reply Jan 24, 2019, 1:59 AM Reply Quote 3
                                        • M
                                          Meta Chuh moderator @Ilkka Lindblom
                                          last edited by Meta Chuh Jan 24, 2019, 2:00 AM Jan 24, 2019, 1:59 AM

                                          side note to @Alan-Kilborn, as this thread was resurfaced by @Ilkka-Lindblom :

                                          i guess my evil upvote finger’s incubation period for “Thanks for everyone’s efforts so far…” is over.
                                          my hooked, crooked finger just went haywire on that damned button … and i sincerely hope you won’t notice it at all 😉

                                          1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 3
                                          • First post
                                            Last post
                                          The Community of users of the Notepad++ text editor.
                                          Powered by NodeBB | Contributors