Why doesn't it delete bacup version when I close a file from npp



  • Every time I visit my custom backup folder, I find it having all names of all the files I had opened since last clearing.

    Why doesn’t it delete bacup version when I close a file from npp?

    When does it clean-up backup folder?

    or, There should be some menu item or command or method, by clicking which it will keep backup of only those files that are currently open in npp, and shall delete all the other files that were open sometime but were then closed.

    I still feel that backup of a file should be deleted when the file is closed in npp.



  • @V-S-Rawat said:

    I still feel that backup of a file should be deleted when the file is closed in npp.

    Pretty sure N++ plays it cautiously. Some people are going to want those backups. Closing a file in N++ doesn’t mean in general you don’t want it or its history any longer. A better case could be made for removing backups if you use N++ to delete a file or move it to recycle bin.


Log in to reply