Deactivate "Are you sure......" dialogue



  • This has been queried several times but I can’t see where it was definitely answered. all threads seem now to be closed without a definite result being added. There are hints that it is designed as a safety feature and as such can’t/won’t be changed but only “hints”. Same goes for requests to be able to toggle the feature on/off.

    Some say that it’s only one click so it shouldn’t be a bother and I can understand that in low number manually oversighted runs but where you have an automation (automated because it requires hundreds of variants to be examined) that runs into the hundreds that is hundreds of clicks and, for me, despite adding in the use of PTFB to automate the click and altered timings I am finding my Notepad++ automations to now be completely unreliable and prone to mystery breakdowns.

    Was there an on/off toggle inserted somewhere that I’ve missed? Or can that feature be added in the future because those mandatory “are you sure” messages are driving me to distraction.

    Thanks



  • @Laurie-M

    This has been asked before.
    See HERE.



  • Yes it has been “asked” but unfortunately I can’t find where it has been clearly answered.

    So thanks for replying but a link to the answer, if it exists, (and as I said that I needed in my initial post) rather than chiding me would have been better.



  • @Laurie-M

    I was trying to hint that nobody reading this knows what “are you sure?” messages you are talking about.
    There are many of those type in the Notepad++ UI, as in most software packages of any complexity.



  • From those previous threads I think those that were inconvenienced knew full well what the problem was and the repliers as well but your point has some validity thanks so

    https://community.notepad-plus-plus.org/assets/uploads/files/1596453142934-notepad-_2020-08-03_12-12-13.png



  • @Laurie-M

    From those previous threads I think those that were inconvenienced knew full well what the problem was and the repliers as well

    How in the HECK were we supposed to know about those previous threads and what people were asking about in them, from what little information you provided in your opening comment in this thread?
    You didn’t link to old postings there, nor describe what you were talking about…sigh.

    So then, FINALLY, we have that you’re actually talking about:

    ad8aa2f1-df25-4ecd-a1fa-6b2a2351e3f4-image.png

    Was there an on/off toggle inserted somewhere that I’ve missed?

    Yes.

    The solution is to simply untick this box:

    6e367d5e-c35d-404b-8cbf-8212fef45666-image.png



  • @Laurie-M ,

    Further to what Alan said:

    1. By supplying the information from the start, rather than making him drag it out of you, you would have had your answer a lot sooner.
      • When you have a question, don’t ever assume that people know the context; the only context that should be assumed in this forum is “Notepad++”; other than that, when you want help, you have to be the one to describe the problem.
      • If there are other threads that are related but didn’t answer your question, it is quite helpful for you to provide links to those other threads – there are literally thousands of topics in this Forum. (My first topic was #10963, and this topic is #20801 – that’s nearly 10000 topics in the last 5 years. Expecting us to know any specific topic in the forum is expecting too much.
      • If there are screenshots that would help us understand the exact dialog in question, putting the image in the first question is the way to go.
    2. The screenshot that Alan provided is correct: you may see different names for some of the entries in the Preferences dialog (he has customized his significantly), but the “Searching” section is the same name, so you should be able to find it.
    3. The “Confirm Replace All in All Opened Documents” option has existed since v7.9 in September of last year 🛈, and is documented in the npp-user-manual.org on the Preferences page.

    If you had started by saying, “When I try to replace all the text in all open documents, it gives me a confirmation message like ![](https://community.notepad-plus-plus.org/assets/uploads/files/1614352976327-ad8aa2f1-df25-4ecd-a1fa-6b2a2351e3f4-image.png). Is there currently a way to disable that prompt? I saw conversations in URL1 and URL2 which talked about it, but there didn’t seem to be an answer there”, you would have gotten a quick and painless answer the first time.



  • @PeterJones said in Deactivate "Are you sure......" dialogue:

    The screenshot that Alan provided is correct: you may see different names for some of the entries in the Preferences dialog (he has customized his significantly), but the “Searching” section is the same name, so you should be able to find it.

    Oops, yea, sorry, I try not to do that (provide screenshots of my very-customized UI text).

    But since in this case for the “Searching” subpage, I had not modified the subpage title or any of the entries on that page, it’s OK. (But actually I just didn’t notice what I was doing).



  • …and in fact I can now (with 7.9.3+) get rid of this subpage text:

    Def. Dir. + New Style

    and go back to the default of:

    Default Directory

    because, along with WinXP support, the “New Style” setting is now obsolete!



  • Thanks for clarifying my query and most of all for the solution which I was danged if i could find!


Log in to reply