Closed files (not saved, no need to be saved) re-appear and Marco's not saving



  • Hi there,

    I have two issues with notepad++.

    First, when notepad++ gets closed unexpectedly, I reopen it. But each time it opens unsaved files which I don’t want to save and so don’t want to have reopened from I don’t know where.

    I tried closing all files again (it also reopens files that weren’t open) then close notepad++ and reopen it. That works, untill e.g. a system freeze occurs, then all those closed and unsaved files re-open, and the ones I want it to reopen are nowhere to be found.

    Second, I’ve created some macro’s which is a great feature, but some are a little complicated to recreate so I happily saved them but… they are saved until notepad++ is closed.

    Tried the “save session” but I don’t know what’s suppose to be saved? because split-view? no, Marco’s? no…

    I really like notepad++ but these few things are kind of annoying.

    O btw, when creating split-view (like open file in another view) the font size on the right view is smaller then it is on the left.

    Running version 7.9.5
    Regards,
    Leon



  • This post is deleted!


  • @Lucca-Peluca said in Closed files (not saved, no need to be saved) re-appear and Marco's not saving:

    This is better to post at Boycott Notepad++.

    No! @Leon-Meijer has asked valid questions.



  • @Leon-Meijer ,

    If it’s not saving macros, and if sessions aren’t being saved properly (or are coming back after files have been closed), I think maybe you don’t have write permission where your config files are located.

    Could you please copy/paste from Notepad++'s ?-menu’s Debug Info? And also show us a screenshot of your Settings > Preferences > Cloud & Link dialog settings – these two will tell us where your config files should be located, and then we can help you figure out where to check for write permissions: If Cloud & Link is checked to set a cloud path, then config files including session.xml and shortcuts.xml will be stored in that folder, and so that folder and those files will need write permission; or else, if the Debug Info shows Local Conf mode : ON then the config files will be in the same directory as notepad++.exe (also shown in Debug Info), so you will need write permission there; otherwise, those config files go in %AppData%\Notepad++ 🛈, and you will need write permission on that directory and files.

    Regarding automatic vs manual sessions:

    Sharing a screenshot of Settings > Preferences > Backup will tell us what your session and snapshot settings are. The “remember current session” will remember what files are opened, and which view they are in, as long as Notepad++ has write permission to session.xml (see above). “Enable session snapshot and periodic backup” will keep a backup copy of all unsaved files (including unnamed files), so turning that off will prevent it from re-opening unsaved files next time (but when you exit Notepad++, it will ask you if you want to save or discard the unsaved files).

    Tried the “save session” but I don’t know what’s suppose to be saved? because split-view? no,

    Yes, actually, Save Session does include the information on which file tabs are in which view in split-view. But the manually saved sessions also have to be manually loaded. So if you exit after manually saving the session, you will have to manually load the session to get that state back. The fact that Save Session saves split-view is really easy to test: 1) Have split view, with files open on each side. 2) File > Save Session, pick a known file name. 3) File > Close All. Split view goes away. 4) File > Load Session, and select the session file you saved. 5) The files are re-opened, and split view is back.

    “save session” … Marco’s? no…

    Correct. Macros are saved automatically when Notepad++ correctly exits, assuming it has write permission to shortcuts.xml. Macros have nothing to do with the Save Session command.

    O btw, when creating split-view (like open file in another view) the font size on the right view is smaller then it is on the left.

    That means that at some point, you dragged the separator bar between the two views to make them unequal. Because Notepad++ defaults to balanced views on split view.


Log in to reply