Autosave disable when you select multi instance
I normally close Notepad++ without any concern, but when you select multi instance you need to deal with “do you want to save” stuff… please correct this :-)
The setting that controls that is this one:
For some reason (that I don’t know but it has been in place for some while), when you run another instance (from the first), that instance runs with that checkbox cleared. Thus, you see it force you to do something with modified files when you exit.
As I said this has been in place for some while, and others have complained about it as well, but it hasn’t been changed by the developers, so I presume there is a good reason for current behavior?
I don’t use Notepad++ in this manner, so the behavior doesn’t bother me.
so I presume there is a good reason for current behavior?
My guess is because if you have two instances that both have enable-session-snapshot turned on, then whichever instance is closed last will be the one whose session wins, and that would confuse/annoy some users and would guarantee data loss.
Having a feature that guarantees unexpected data loss is a bad idea in my opinion, and is the reason that I would guess that the developers have prevented session-snapshot from being enabled on additional instances.