Community
    • Login

    Cannot make Move / Clone other view windows have the same font size

    Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Help wanted · · · – – – · · ·
    2 Posts 2 Posters 23 Views 2 Watching
    Loading More Posts
    • Oldest to Newest
    • Newest to Oldest
    • Most Votes
    Reply
    • Reply as topic
    Log in to reply
    This topic has been deleted. Only users with topic management privileges can see it.
    • G Offline
      gromittoo
      last edited by

      I want to compare two files, side by side. My searches led me to use the View -> Move/Clone Current Document -> Clone to other view… On the original pane (Left), 40 lines of the file are displayed. On the cloned pane (Right), 49 lines are displayed. Nothing I do seems to make both windows the same size font. Restore default zoom… no good. Change the font using Settings -> Style Configurator -> Font Syle, I increased the font setting from 10 to 14. Both panes increased their font, so the left pane now shows 31 lines, and the right pane shows 36.

      I need to have the same number of lines displayed on both sides.

      Notepad++ v8.9.3 (64-bit)
      Build time: Mar 20 2026 - 00:44:25
      Scintilla/Lexilla included: 5.6.0/5.4.7
      Boost Regex included: 1_90
      pugixml included: 1.15
      nlohmann JSON included: 3.12.0
      Path: C:\Program Files\Notepad++\notepad++.exe
      Command Line: “C:\Users\Googief\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\Themes\MySquishyTheme20260930b.theme” -multiInst -nosession -lnormal -n3 -c8
      Admin mode: OFF
      Local Conf mode: OFF
      Cloud Config: OFF
      WinGUp: present
      disableNppAutoUpdate.xml: absent
      Periodic Backup: OFF
      Placeholders: OFF
      Scintilla Rendering Mode: SC_TECHNOLOGY_DIRECTWRITE (1)
      Multi-instance Mode: monoInst
      asNotepad: OFF
      File Status Auto-Detection: cdEnabledNew (for current file/tab only)
      Dark Mode: OFF
      Display Info:
      primary monitor: 1920x1080, scaling 100%
      visible monitors count: 2
      installed Display Class adapters:
      0000: Description - NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1660 SUPER
      0000: DriverVersion - 32.0.16.1060
      0001: Description - Intel® UHD Graphics 630
      0001: DriverVersion - 31.0.101.2130
      0002: Description - Microsoft Remote Display Adapter
      0002: DriverVersion - 10.0.26100.9278
      0003: Description - Microsoft Remote Display Adapter
      0003: DriverVersion - 10.0.26100.9278
      - warning, search has been limited to maximum number of adapter records: 4
      OS Name: Windows 11 Pro (64-bit)
      OS Version: 25H2
      OS Build: 26200.9457
      Current ANSI codepage: 1252
      Plugins:
      mimeTools (3.1)
      NppConverter (4.7)
      NppExport (0.4)

      PeterJonesP 1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
      • PeterJonesP Online
        PeterJones @gromittoo
        last edited by

        @gromittoo ,

        I have never seen that happen.

        The only way I know of for the two Views to appear to have different font sizes is if there is a zoom difference. I know you said you returned to default zoom, but the two Views don’t sync zoom in modern Notepad++, so you have to return to default zoom for each View separately. (Click one view, reset its zoom; click other view, reset its zoom)

        If your views are top/bottom, rather than left/right, they aren’t guaranteed to have the same number of rows, so right click on the divider between, and Rotate Left to get back to side-by-side views, which always have the same vertical space.

        Alternatively, if the font sizes are actually visibly the same, by a given line takes up more vertical space because of line wrap, you can drag the separation bar left/right to balance the width, or turn off line wrapping.

        I want to compare two files, side by side. My searches led me to use the View -> Move/Clone Current Document -> Clone to other view…

        That advice showed two copies of the same file, and doesn’t compare two separate files. You can move (not clone) the second file into the other view, if you really want two different files side-by-side.

        And if you’re really comparing two files, the ComparePlus plugin is your friend. (It can be installed using Plugins > Plugins Admin)

        1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0

        Hello! It looks like you're interested in this conversation, but you don't have an account yet.

        Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

        With your input, this post could be even better 💗

        Register Login
        • First post
          Last post
        The Community of users of the Notepad++ text editor.
        Powered by NodeBB | Contributors