How to avoid that new installation overwrites the customized run items



  • Whenever notepad++ upgrades to a new version, the installation would overwrite all previous customized run items in the drop-down menu. Nothing old is left. It becomes completely default, like “Launch in Firefox”, “Launch in IE” … Now I manually add my personal items back every time. Is there a smarter way to work around?



  • Find the file “shortcuts.xml” in the folder where you’ve installed N++. Copy the file to somewhere else. After installing the new version of N++, copy it back, overwriting the new “shortcuts.xml” if there is one.

    The next time you run N++, your old shortcuts should be back.


Log in to reply