Change Syntax Highlighting ("Language") Characters

  • Is it possible to change which characters can be used for syntax highlighting?

    Specifically, the “Language” function let you use characters and strings of ASCII characters, in the Unicode range 21-7F, to define text colouring. This includes the obsolete “Deleted Character” code (7F), but excludes the space (20). I want to use the control code characters 01-1F.

    Are there Scintille or NppExec functions to do this?

  • Update: Charcters outside the range 21-7F can form part of delimiter strings, but the strings must contain 21-7F characters.

    So, if “$” here represents code 1B - the “Escape” character - these would valid strings: