Backup Settings Resetting > Files LOST!



  • I’ve always been able to depend on Notepad++ to keep everything … until the last couple of months.
    It seems like adding options in updates has made my Notepad++ less stable and surely less safe!

    I’m using Windows 7 Home Premium on an older HP laptop. I have Notepad++ v7.5.9.

    My Settings > Preferences > Backup keeps resetting to default NO BACKUP… More files get lost each time the computer crashes. This is HORRIBLE!.

    I tick Remember Current Session, and Enable snapshot every 7 seconds, and Verbose backup.

    1. Do I have to set a custom backup location to get it to save my files?
      What would make it keep resetting so I can stop that?

    2. Only a few of my files are left in \Notepad++\Backup! Where are they? Do I need to download some 3rd party file finding software?
      If I do, is this what I need?
      https://www.easeus.com/file-recovery/restore-deleted-crashed-notepad-plus-files.html

    I am shocked. It has always been good before now.



  • welcome to the notepad++ community, @Linda-Hull90

    please test the following, to verify, if a clean notepad++ would remember all backup settings on your system.

    • download the notepad++ 7.6.6. 32 bit portable version from >>> here <<<.
      (the portable version does not require any installation and runs completely independent and isolated from your installed version. all custom settings, as well as any stuff you might want to try at the portable version, will not modify your installed version)

    • extract npp.7.6.6.bin.zip to e.g. your desktop.

    • important note: make sure to close all instances of notepad++ that might be running, before starting the portable version at the next step, to be sure you are using the portable version for this test.

    • open the extracted npp.7.6.6.bin folder and start this portable version by double-clicking on notepad++.exe inside this folder.
      (note: notepad++.exe will just be seen as notepad++, if you have enabled to hide all known file extensions at your explorer settings)

    • set your desired backup settings and test if they prevail after closing and reopening notepad++, as well as after a complete reboot.

    if this portable version works for you as expected, please provide us with the debug information of your installed notepad++, by going to the menu ? > debug info… > copy debug info into clipboard and pasting it here, for further guides and fixes.



  • Meta Chuh ,

    Thank you for your speedy reply!

    I restarted both Notepad++ instances, and rebooted the computer… the Backup settings on both of them survived.

    Where do I look for “menu ? > debug info…”?

    It would require pulling the power plug with no battery to duplicate the crashes.



  • @Linda-Hull90

    if your current notepad++ 7.5.9. remembers the backup settings now, i think that no further action is necessary for now.

    (but you will find ? > debug info… > copy debug info into clipboard at the question mark on the menu bar of notepad++, as seen at the screenshot at the bottom.)

    one possible cause for losing your notepad++ backup settings:
    if you change any notepad++ settings, they will only be saved when you exit notepad++.
    so if e.g. your battery broke down while notepad++ was running, those changed settings will be lost, as they have never been written to your hard drive.

    answers to your questions:

    1. Do I have to set a custom backup location to get it to save my files?
      What would make it keep resetting so I can stop that?

      no. the default backup location of your verbose setting, will save a previous version of your file, every time you hit save, into a folder called nppBackup, which is created within the same folder of your edited file.
      this folder will not exist if a file has never been saved.

      note: the verbose backup will contain only the previous versions of your file.
      the last version will be at the original location if you have saved your file, or eventually at %AppData%\Notepad++\backup if you did not save it.

      please save as often as you can.

    2. Only a few of my files are left in \Notepad++\Backup! Where are they? Do I need to download some 3rd party file finding software?
      If I do, is this what I need?

      you could look at %AppData%\Notepad++\backup, to see if an unsaved file is eventually still available, if you did not save it to any other folder manually.
      if you have not saved your lost files to disk, there will be no need to use 3rd party disk recovery tools.

    how to get your notepad++ debug info:
    Imgur



  • Meta Chuh,

    Here is the Debug Info:
    Notepad++ v7.5.9 (32-bit)
    Build time : Oct 14 2018 - 15:02:52
    Path : C:\Program Files (x86)\Notepad++\notepad++.exe
    Admin mode : OFF
    Local Conf mode : OFF
    OS : Windows 7 (64-bit)
    Plugins : DSpellCheck.dll mimeTools.dll NppConverter.dll NppExport.dll PluginManager.dll

    I think you are right about it being a problem of abrupt power loss.

    one possible cause for losing your notepad++ backup settings:
    if you change any notepad++ settings, they will only be saved when you exit notepad++.
    so if e.g. your battery broke down while notepad++ was running, those changed settings will be lost, as they have never been written to your hard drive.

    The new Notepad++ came with the backup set already, just not ‘verbose backup’. My original should keep that setting as long as the computer doesn’t lose power suddenly. It needs a new battery.
    One should make sure that pets don’t pull the power cord out of the back of the laptop.



  • thank you for your debug information, @Linda-Hull90

    your install looks good to me, and 7.5.9 is the latest version available through automatic updates.

    so no action will be required, except saving files as often as you can, as well as putting a backup copy of them to a usb drive from time to time, just in case your pets do more to your laptop than just pulling the cord. 😉

    best regards



  • Maybe a possible cause is running N++ with multiple instances and closing the non-original instance last? I seem to recall that some settings get disabled for a second+ instance and if you close the ORIGINAL instance with any others still open, when you finally close those, their settings become your new default settings. Maybe something to check…