Can I disable collapsed text automatically expanding when edited?



  • When I’m editing a section that contains collapsed text below it, all of the text automatically expands when I hit enter. e.g.:

    <table style=“margin-top: 10px”>
    <tr>
    <td> [collapsed]
    <td> [collapsed]
    </tr>
    </table>

    … expands to show …

    <table style=“margin-top: 20px”>
    <tr>
    <td>
    rabbit
    rabbit
    rabbit
    </td>
    <td>
    rabbit
    rabbit
    rabbit
    </td>
    </tr>
    </table>

    … as soon as I hit enter to change “10px” to “20px”.

    Is there a way to disable this auto-expansion? Apologies if this is already answered elsewhere. I have looked, honest, but perhaps I’ve not been searching for the correct terminology!

    Many thanks in anticipation!



  • @Kevin-Smith ,

    Cannot replicate.

    Please give us your ? menu’s Debug Info. Please give us more details on how to replicate your problem.



  • @PeterJones Hmmm. Now I can’t replicate it either. What I was trying to describe happens quite frequently (often enough to have prompted me to ask the question) but perhaps it isn’t happening for the reason I thought it was and I’m doing something else to cause it.

    Many thanks for the response. Please ignore my question for now. If/when it happens again I’ll pay more attention to exactly what I did, and if I can’t work out myself why it happened and how to stop it, I’ll ensure I can give a replicable description.



  • @PeterJones Got it! It isn’t when I edit a line, it’s when I delete a spacing line between two pieces of collapsed text. The lower collapsed lines automatically expand when I delete the blank line.

    305 + <table> [collapsed lines]
    379 [Null line, to be deleted]
    380 + <table> [collapsed lines]
    386 <xsl:if …

    When I delete line 379 using the [Delete] key, the collapsed segment below automatically expands, so the screen becomes …

    305 + <table> [collapsed lines]
    379 - <table> [expanded automatically]
    380 <tr>
    381 <td>rabbit</td>
    382 <td>rabbit</td>
    383 <td>rabbit</td>
    384 </tr>
    385 </table>
    386 <xsl:if …

    I’d like, if possible, to be able to delete the null line keeping the next line collapsed

    305 + <table> [collapsed lines]
    379 + <table> [collapsed lines]

    The debug info from the ? menu is:

    Notepad++ v7.8.6 (32-bit)
    Build time : Apr 21 2020 - 15:17:06
    Path : C:\Program Files (x86)\Notepad++\notepad++.exe
    Admin mode : OFF
    Local Conf mode : OFF
    OS Name : Windows 10 Enterprise (64-bit)
    OS Version : 1903
    OS Build : 18362.388
    Plugins : ComparePlugin.dll DSpellCheck.dll mimeTools.dll NppConverter.dll NppExport.dll



  • @Kevin-Smith ,

    I can reproduce that. If I have two collapsed <table>s with a blank line in between, and delete the blank line, the second <table> will expand.

    My guess is that it was done intentionally, to protect you from deleting the next “line” and accidentally deleting the whole table.

    I do not know of a way to disable that behavior.

    As a workaround, you could just hit Ctrl+Alt+F, or whatever key View > Collapse Current Level has assigned for your installation – or click the collapse button.

    Maybe someone else knows another way to prevent it or how to work around it; I cannot think of any that are practical and easier than clicking once or Ctrl+Alt+F.



  • @PeterJones Thanks, Peter. It shouldn’t be a problem for me to just hit the collapse command again after I’ve deleted the line. The problem is it keeps surprising me. I forget it’s going to happen! The example I gave was simplistic, but when it’s two hundred lines collapsed underneath, not just two or three, everything moves on the screen and I have to find where I was editing again in order to collapse that section.

    If there is a solution, I’d love to hear it. At least this exercise has made it clearer to me what’s causing it. No doubt I’ll still forget the next time I start using Notepad++, but now it should only happen once to prompt me to note what line I’m on before hitting [Delete]!

    … Although, thinking a little more about it, if I follow your recommendation of immediately using Ctrl+Alt+F it shouldn’t matter what section the screen is showing me, it’ll collapse at the correct point! Yippie! So you have provided a solution. Many thanks. :-)